When the devil woke in hell this morning hey may have thought the air conditioning was set to high. As the day proceeded and the flames of perdition failed to burn tormented souls, I’m sure he was curious to why this was happening. Illinois the only state in the union with no conceal carry ability has finally passed Conceal Carry law through the house and the senate with Super majorities. The only thing in our way. Governor “not so mighty” Quinn.
Even if he try’s to veto it. There is the votes to over ride him. This is not a great bill by any means. But considering that it Illinois we are talking about. It could be a lot worse. Here is a summary.
It is shall-issue carry
Preemption applies to handguns only. Will include both ammunition and magazines. See Sec. 90. Preemption applies to FOID card holders only.
16 hours of training required but 8 hours can be waived for prior military service and hunter safety courses.
Cost of the license will be$150 for residents; $300 for non-residents. Renewal for residents is $150.
No reciprocity with other states
Establishes CUI or carrying under the influence. Penalties the same as for DUI. Applies to all including LEO.
A carry license doesn’t exempt the holder from a NICS check on a firearms purchase
Restaurants that have over 50% of profits from alcohol sales must post premises. Onus is on business owner to post.
Counties and municipalities have 10 days after bill signing or veto override to have firearms ordinances in place. After that time, there is state preemption on all firearms issues.
Law states firearm must be concealed or partially concealed.
Chicago/Cook County gets to keep its AWB and mag restrictions for rifles and shotguns
Let us take a moment a enjoy the moment of after a hard won battle.